Makefile rules & recipes

Recipes for the rules defined in your Makefiles require specific indentation. Each line in a recipe (i.e. “tests” below) must start with a tab character.

You can run:

cat -n -E -T Makefile
option description
n Show line numbers
e equivalent to -vE
t equivalent to -vT
E, –show-ends display $ at end of each line
T, –show-tabs display TAB characters as ^I
v, –show-nonprinting use ^ and M- notation, except for LFD and TAB

Which produces something like:

include ../Makeconfig$
$
headers := time.h sys/time.h sys/timeb.h bits/time.h^I^I^I\$
^I   bits/types/clockid_t.h bits/types/clock_t.h^I^I^I\$
^I   bits/types/struct_itimerspec.h^I^I^I^I\$
^I   bits/types/struct_timespec.h bits/types/struct_timeval.h^I\$
^I   bits/types/struct_tm.h bits/types/timer_t.h^I^I^I\$
^I   bits/types/time_t.h$
$
routines := offtime asctime clock ctime ctime_r difftime \$
^I    gmtime localtime mktime time^I^I \$
^I    gettimeofday settimeofday adjtime tzset^I \$
^I    tzfile getitimer setitimer^I^I^I \$
^I    stime dysize timegm ftime^I^I^I \$
^I    getdate strptime strptime_l^I^I^I \$
^I    strftime wcsftime strftime_l wcsftime_l^I \$
^I    timespec_get$
aux :=^I    era alt_digit lc-time-cleanup$
$
tests := test_time clocktest tst-posixtz tst-strptime tst_wcsftime \$
^I   tst-getdate tst-mktime tst-mktime2 tst-ftime_l tst-strftime \$
^I   tst-mktime3 tst-strptime2 bug-asctime bug-asctime_r bug-mktime1 \$
^I   tst-strptime3 bug-getdate1 tst-strptime-whitespace tst-ftime \$
^I   tst-tzname$
$

Where ^I represents a tab character and $ represents a newline character. You can use this to check for valid tab and newline indentation in your recipes in case you run into this error: *** missing separator. Stop.
If you’re using vi, make sure to use :set noet to disable replacement of tabs with a tabwidth set number of spaces.

Leave a Reply

